Friday, August 12, 2022

FCC chairman announces appointments to Intergovernmental Advisory Committee

By on August 2, 2018

SAN JUAN – The chairman of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), Ajit Pai, appointed 18 new members to the independent agency’s Intergovernmental Advisory Committee (IAC).

The vacancies filled resulted from a January order expanding the IAC from 15 to 30 members and the need to replace two members whose elected terms ended in January.

Pai named Arizona Gov. Doug Ducey chairman of the newly expanded IAC. The 18 newly appointed members join the 12 existing members.

Of the four State Public Utility Commission representatives among the newly appointed IAC members, Pai named Alexandra Fernández Navarro, commissioner of the Puerto Rico Telecommunications Regulatory Board (TRB).

Fernández Navarro is a lawyer with more than 15 years of experience in telecommunications who has served in several TRB roles for 10 years, including director of its legal division.

Fernández Navarro was appointed a commissioner of the Puerto Rico Telecommunications Regulatory Board by Gov. Ricardo Rosselló in 2017.

“It is the first time Puerto Rico has representation in a committee of such importance in the Federal Communications Commission. We are honored that who represents us is a woman commissioner of the Regulatory Board,” the governor said in a statement announcing the appointment Thursday.

TRB Chairwoman Sandra Torres added that “the collaboration of Fernández Navarro in the analysis of the use of new technologies and alternative communication mechanisms in the recovery work with the working group, appointed by Chairman Pai, allowed for an assertive response and constant communication about the needs of Island residents after the impact of Hurricane Maria.”

The new IAC members will serve through the end of the IAC’s current term, which runs through March 24, 2019.

The IAC provides “guidance, expertise, and recommendations to the Commission on a range of telecommunication issues for which local, state, and Tribal governments explicitly or inherently share responsibility or administration with the Commission,” according to the FCC.

See the full list of new appointees in this FCC document.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login