Monday, October 25, 2021

FEMA announces 8 Puerto Rico towns approved for $39 million in community disaster loans

By on May 25, 2018

SAN JUAN –The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved more than $39 million in community disaster loans to eight Puerto Rico municipalities. The low-interest loans are intended to help hurricane Irma- and María-related recovery efforts.

“The loans will provide municipalities with the resources and flexibility to continue delivering essential services to their communities while they recover from the storms,” according to FEMA’s press release.

The municipalities approved for $5 million each are Aguadilla, Cabo Rojo, Canóvanas, Carolina, Manatí, Mayaguez and Peñuelas. The municipality of Orocovis is approved for $4.1 million.

In April, FEMA approved more than $53.7 million in community disaster loans for 12 municipalities. The municipalities of Bayamón, Caguas, Humacao, Juncos, Ponce, Toa Baja and Trujillo Alto have been approved for $5 million each. Río Grande has been approved for $4.65 million, Sabana Grande for $2.47 million, Salinas for $2.97 million, San Lorenzo for $3.7 million and Yabucoa for $4.9 million.

Loan applications are pending for additional municipalities.

President Trump signed supplemental appropriations funding on Oct. 26 permitting the transfer of up to $4.6 billion to FEMA’s Community Disaster Loan Program.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login