Sunday, October 2, 2022

Governor announces appointments to Public Service Regulatory Board

By on August 20, 2018

SAN JUAN – Gov. Ricardo Rosselló said Monday that he has appointed Edison Avilés Deliz, Ramón Vera Montalvo and Alexandra Fernández Navarro as members of the newly created Public Service Regulatory Board.

Avilés Deliz will preside over the board and remain chairman of the Puerto Rico Energy Commission, which becomes the Energy Bureau under the reorganization.

“The three have proven to be excellent public servants and will have a leading role in the implementation of the reorganization of the new Public Service Regulatory Board,” the governor said in a release issued by his office, La Fortaleza.

The new board, which was established Aug. 12, consolidates the Energy Commission, the Public Service Commission and the Telecommunications Regulatory Board (JRT) as its bureaus. The Energy Administration and the Independent Consumer Protection Office also fall under the board.

As chairman of the Energy Bureau, Avilés Deliz’s decisions will be reviewed before the Court of Appeals and not the Public Service Regulatory board.

Avilés Deliz is an electrical engineer with more than 25 years’ experience and a lawyer with more than 15 years of experience, La Fortaleza wrote, adding that he earned a master’s degree in international relations from Norwich University in Vermont.

Fernández Navarro, La Fortaleza, said “is a lawyer with more than 15 years of experience in the field of telecommunications. She has worked in various positions of the [Telecommunications Regulatory Board], including director of the legal division and commissioner.”

In August, she was appointed by Federal Communications Commission Chairman Ajit Pai to the agency’s Intergovernmental Advisory Committee.

“Vera Montalvo is a lawyer with more than 40 years of experience in the legal profession. He has served as Commissioner of the [Public Service Commission] since 2001.”

In addition, the governor appointed Lillian Mateo Santos and Ferdinand Ramos as associate Energy Bureau commissioners.

“Mateo Santos has over 20 years of legal experience and has a Master’s degree in Environmental and Energy Law from Tulane University.” He earned “his bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Georgia Tech University and is admitted to practice in Puerto Rico and Florida. Currently, he works in private practice and has supervised several large constructions.”

Rosselló appointed Julio Sepúlveda Irizarry as associate commissioner of the Transportation and other Public Services Bureau (NTSP by its Spanish initials). He “has extensive experience in public service and has served as special assistant to the [Public Service Commission] since 2013.”

Luis García Fraga, who presided over the Public Service Commission, will now chair the NTSP.

The governor also appointed Zaida Cordero López as associate commissioner of the Telecommunications Bureau. She “has been serving in various positions within the [Telecommunications Regulatory Board, or TRB] since 1999.” Currently, she directs its legal division.

TRB Chairwoman Sandra Torres will continue serving as chair of the Telecommunications Bureau.

Also announced Monday was the replacement of Baseball Hall of Famer Ivan “Pudge” Rodríguez’s seat as shadow representative in the Equality Commission, also known as the statehood commission. Luis Berríos Amadeo will represent the island along with the other appointed lawmakers working on the so-called Tennessee Plan for Puerto Rico to admitted as a state.

Berríos Amadeo is a member of the University of Puerto Rico Governing Board and was a chairman of its Board of Trustees.

“In his public career, he has worked in the Department of Justice in the General Litigation Division, was president of the [Publis Service Commission], member of the Labor Relations Board and member of the Board of Directors of the Public-Private Partnerships Authority, among other positions public and private.

“Berríos Amadeo is a retired colonel of the United States Army Reserve and has worked in civil law practice for more than 45 years,” La Fortaleza wrote.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login