New Jersey faces decision on raising minimum wage to $15
TRENTON, N.J. (AP) — Gov. Chris Christie is facing a deadline to act on raising the state’s minimum wage to $10.10 an hour in the next year and to at least $15 over the next five.
The Republican Christie has criticized the proposal, which the Democrat-led Legislature sent to him in June. When lawmakers return from an August break, likely after Labor Day, the governor will have to veto the law if he wants to block its enactment.
If it were enacted, New Jersey would become the third state on a direct path toward a $15 an hour minimum wage. New York and California passed similar measures.
Other states including New Jersey have already linked their increased wages to inflation.