Thursday, October 18, 2018

Puerto Rico judicial branch shrinks amid fiscal crisis

By on April 12, 2017


SAN JUAN – Puerto Rico Supreme Court Chief Justice Maite Oronoz announced Tuesday that, as of July 3, any civil or criminal matter of municipal or higher jurisdiction that originates in San Lorenzo or Juncos will be dealt with in the Caguas Judicial Center. Cayey court matters will be presented and dealt with there as well.

Justice Oronoz emphasized that the determinations were made after assessing various criteria, including court caseloads, facilities, available judicial support staff, availability of equipment, access to public transportation and sociodemographic characteristics according to the 2010 census. She also said the Caguas Judicial Center will not be affected by the increase in number of cases and issues to be addressed.

With the change, the Guayama judicial region will now be made up of Arroyo, Guayama, Patillas and Salinas. The Caguas region will consist of Caguas, Aguas Buenas, Cidra, Gurabo, Juncos, San Lorenzo and Cayey.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login