Friday, October 7, 2022

Puerto Rico power utility announces members of its Transformation Advisory Council

By on December 12, 2017

SAN JUAN – The Puerto Rico Electric Power Authority (Prepa) announced Tuesday the names of 11 people who volunteered to serve as founding members of the public utility’s Transformation Advisory Council (TAC).

The council was formed to provide Prepa’s governing board and management team with advice on the development of a long-term vision and transformation plan for the island’s electrical grid.

According to the release, TAC’s first step with the utility will be to “serve as a sounding board” on the fiscal plan being developed for submission to the Fiscal Oversight and Management Board by the Dec. 22  deadline.

The TAC will be chaired by David Owens an electric power industry restructuring expert who recently retired as executive vice president of the Edison Electric Institute.  He will be joined as co-chair by Dr. Cris Eugster, who serves as the chief operating officer of CPS Energy in San Antonio, Texas, the “largest municipally owned energy utility providing both natural gas and electric service” in the United States, according to the release.

Puerto Rico power utility’s Transformation Advisory Council tasked with channeling aid offers

The other members “consist of recognized executive leaders from the public power and investor owned utility sector and from select non-governmental organizations.”

The utility’s announcement says the TAC members are “experts in grid reliability and resilience, corporate restructuring, sustainability, island grids, public power, customer engagement, evolving regulatory frameworks for distributed energy resources, and the utility of the future.”

The list includes:

Charlie Bayless, former CEO of Illinois Power and Tucson Electric

David Bissell, CEO of the Kauai Island Utility Cooperative

Sanjay Bose, VP of Central Engineering of Consolidated Edison

Terry Boston, Director of Gridliance, former CEO of PJM and former EVP of the Tennessee Valley Authority

Kyle Datta, General Partner of the Ulupono Initiative

Julia Hamm, CEO of the Smart Electric Power Alliance

Robert Lurie, EVP and CFO of the New York Power Authority

Fidel Marquez, SVP of Commonwealth Edison

Tom Voss, Chairman of Smart Wires and former Chairman, President and CEO of Ameren Corporation

“We have an opportunity here, not just to restore power and emerge from bankruptcy, but also to establish a model for power generation and delivery in Puerto Rico that sets a global example for cost, resilience, sustainability, and customer engagement and empowerment,” Prepa Governing Board Chairman Ernesto Sgroi said in the release. “In order to develop that model, PREPA will need to access best-in-class advice from leaders who have dealt with the complexities of utility transformation in their own jurisdictions.”

You must be logged in to post a comment Login